GovernmentCommunityBusinessVisitorsHow Do I
Click to Home

Go To Search
Like Us   Follow Us   TC Connect
Keep Baby Safe
The California law for booster car seats requires a child to use a booster seat if the child is 8 years old or younger, or at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height.

Keep Baby Safe Program
This program offers free car seat class once a month. You can receive a $20 coupon towards a booster seat or convertible
at Wal-Mart.For more information, call 209-533-7464.

Car Seat Technicians
Certified child passenger safety seat technicians:
  • Public Health: Eddy Warzee - 209-533-7464
  • C.H.P. Officers: Nicholas Norton/ Brad Schultz - 209-984-3944

Children Left in Vehicles
(V.C. 15620 ) A child six years old or less may not be left alone in a vehicle if the health or safety of the child is at risk, the engine is running, or the keys are in the ignition (unless supervised by someone at least age 12).

California Requirements
Car seats must be installed in the back seat. Breaking this law will result in significant penalties. However, there are some exemptions to the back seat requirement:
  • All rear vehicle seats are already occupied by children under the age of 12 years
  • Medical reasons require that the child or ward not ride in the rear seat (the court may require satisfactory proof of the child's medical condition)
  • The child passenger restraint system cannot be installed properly in the rear vehicle seat
  • The rear vehicle seats are rear-facing
  • The rear vehicle seats are side-facing jump seats
  • There is no rear seat in the vehicle

Additionally, vehicle code 27360(a) states that a child may not ride in the front seat of a motor vehicle with an active passenger airbag if the child is:
  • Riding rear-facing in a child passenger restraint system
  • Under one year of age
  • Weighs less than twenty pounds